TWAS Young Scientists and Women Scientists Awards, 2020

TWAS Young Scientists and Women Scientists Awards, 2020: The World Academy of Science (TWAS) Regional Office for sub-Saharan Africa is pleased to announce the 2020 awards for young scientists and women scientists in Africa. The awards are in different categories to include the 2020 TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award, the 2020 TWAS-Abdool Karim Award, TWAS-CAS Young Scientists Award for Frontier Science and the TWAS-Atta-ur-Rahman Award in Chemistry.

The TWAS Awards aims at supporting young scientists and women scientists who are at the forefront of scientific research in Africa for the advancement of science, engineering and technology in sub-Saharan Africa. TWAS and its partners offer 500 fellowships per year to scientists in the developing world who want to pursue PhDs and postdoctoral research. TWAS prizes and awards are among the most prestigious given for scientific work in the developing world.


Award Sponsor(s): The World Academy of Science (TWAS)

Award to be taken at: Developing Countries

Award level: Postgraduate

Award Worth: Upto USD10,000

Subject Eligibility: Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics

Country/Candidate Eligibility: The scholarship is for students from developing countries.


You may also like: University of Waikato International Masters Scholarship Awards 2020 in New Zealand

Award Eligibility and Selection Criteria: To be considered for the TWAS Young Scientists and Women Scientists Awards, 2020, applicants are to meet the following criteria:

Applicants must be young scientists or women scientists from developing countries who have been living and working there for a minimum of two years prior to their nomination.

·         Applicants must have obtained relevant bachelor’s degree with good grades from recognized universities or its equivalent.

·         Applicants must demonstrate strong leadership and academic potential and must be willing to return to their various countries to help in the advancement of research in their countries.


Other Opportunities:

  1. 2020 Japan International Award for Developing Countries
  2. International Students Merit Awards 2020 at Mercy College, USA


Application Procedure for the TWAS Young Scientists and Women Scientists Awards, 2020


Applicants are to note that they have to be nominated for the awards and nominations can only be submitted electronically through the on-line platform by following the instructions provided. Applicants are to note that they are to be nominated by competent referees as self-nomination will not be accepted.

Nomination Deadline: 30th April and 15th May, 2020 depending on the type of award

Visit the Official Website for further Details

Also Recommended:



Related Opportunities

Stay Updated

We Are Social


Recent Posts


Top Categories

Study Green