Call for Application: UNESCO/The Great Wall Co-Sponsored Fellowships, 2020

Call for Application: UNESCO/The Great Wall Co-Sponsored Fellowships, 2020: Applications are invited from qualified and eligible students to apply for the 2020/2021 fellowship call of the UNESCO/People’s Republic of China (The Great Wall) co-sponsored fellowship programme.

The Government of the People’s Republic of China has given UNESCO the co-sponsorship right to award seventy-five (75) fellowships for advanced studies at postgraduate levels for the 2020/2021 academic session. The fellowships are for the benefit of developing Member States in Africa, Asia-Pacific, Latin America, Europe and Arab region.


Scholarship Sponsor(s): UNESCO/People’s Republic of China

Scholarship to be taken at: Chinese Universities

Scholarship level: Postgraduate

Scholarship Worth: Fully Funded Fellowships

Subject Eligibility: Postgraduate courses tenable at any participating Chinese Universities

Country/Candidate Eligibility: The scholarship is for students from developing Member States.


You may also like: University of Hull International Studentship Award in UK, 2020 (for Low and Middle Income Countries)

Scholarship Eligibility and Selection Criteria: To be considered for the Call for Application: UNESCO/The Great Wall Co-Sponsored Fellowships, 2020, applicants are to meet the following criteria:

  • Applicants applying for the General Scholar programmes must not be older than the age of forty-five (45) and must have completed two years of undergraduate study; and those applying for Senior Scholar Programmes must be a master’s degree holder or an associate professor (or above) and not older than the age of fifty (50).
  • Applicants must possess strong proficiency in English Language.
  • Applicants must be in good health, both mentally and physically.
  • Applicants must be willing to abide by the regulations governing the conduct of the fellows of the programme.
  • Applicants must demonstrate strong leadership potential and be able to interact with people from diverse culture, religion and race.

Eligible Member States:

AFRICA – 46 Member States:
Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Togo, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe

ASIA AND THE PACIFIC – 38 Member States:
Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Mongolia, Myanmar, Nauru, Nepal, Niue, Palau, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Viet Nam

ARAB STATES – 13 Member States:
Algeria, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Palestine, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Yemen

Argentina, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Venezuela

EUROPE – 12 Member States:
Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Republic of Moldova, Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Poland, Serbia, Ukraine


Other Opportunities:

  1. King’s College School of Global Affairs Postgraduate Scholarship in London, 2020
  2. East Tennessee State University International Students Scholarship, 2020


Application Procedure for the Call for Application: UNESCO/The Great Wall Co-Sponsored Fellowships, 2020


Applicants are to read carefully the announcement letters, contact the National Commission for UNESCO of their country and prepare their application documents in English or Chinese language properly according to the requirements given and finally submit their application to the National Commission for UNESCO in their respective countries.

Application Deadline: 25th March, 2020

Visit the Official Website for More Details

Also Recommended:


Related Opportunities

Stay Updated

We Are Social


Recent Posts


Top Categories

Study Green