Instant Grammar Checker - Correct all grammar errors and enhance your writing.
Home / Scholarships / Masters Scholarships / Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2020 for Developing Commonwealth Countries (Fully-Funded to UK)

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2020 for Developing Commonwealth Countries (Fully-Funded to UK)

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2020 for Developing Commonwealth Countries: Applications are now being welcomed from students of low and middle income countries under the commonwealth umbrella to enrol for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2020 offered for a full-time Master’s study programme in the UK universities.

Funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), Commonwealth Shared Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development, and are aimed at those who could not otherwise afford to study in the UK.

Scholarship Sponsor(s): UK Department for International Development (DFID) and supported by UK universities.

Scholarships to be taken at: UK universities.

Scholarship Type: Fully funded Scholarships.

Scholarship level: Master’s studies

Slots: Several.

Scholarship Worth: fully-funded. To cover full tuition fees, living expenses, accommodation, travel allowance, research allowance and other costs relating to the study programme.

Subject Eligibility:  Please see thematic areas within.

Country/Candidate Eligibility:  Applications are accepted from students of the following commonwealth eligible countries; Bangladesh, Cameroon, Eswatini, The Gambia, Ghana, India, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu and Zambia.

Language Requirement: Candidates whose official language is not English language may be required by the university they are applying to for proof of the language ability.


Also Ongoing: Fully-Funded UBC Mastercard Foundation Scholars Program to Study in Canada 2020-2021

Scholarship Thematic Areas:

These scholarships are offered under six themes:

  1. Science and technology for development
  2. Strengthening health systems and capacity
  3. Promoting global prosperity
  4. Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  5. Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  6. Access, inclusion and opportunity

Eligibility and Selection Criteria: To be eligible for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2020, the following conditions apply. You must:

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Be available to start your academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2020
  • By September 2020, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree). The CSC typically does not fund a second UK Master’s degree. If you are applying for a second UK Master’s degree, you will need to provide justification as to why you wish to undertake this study.
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high income country
  • Be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

Applications will be considered according to the following selection criteria:

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • Potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

Recommended Opportunities for You:

  1. University of Waikato International Masters Scholarship Awards 2020 in New Zealand
  2. 2019 Masters Scholarships at Radboud University, Netherlands
  3. International Students (Masters and PhD) Scholarships 2020 at Massey University, New Zealand


Application Procedures for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2020 for Developing Commonwealth Countries – How-to-Apply:

You can apply to study one of the taught Master’s courses offered in the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship scheme after you must have secured admission with your chosen university. The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the online application system. It is important that you visit the official website for full details on  full list of eligible courses,  full list of participating university contact details.

Document requirements: You will necessarily be required to upload the following

  • Proof of citizenship or refugee status
  • Full transcripts detailing all your higher education qualifications including to-date transcripts for any qualifications you are currently studying (with certified translations if not in English)

Note: you can apply for more than one course and/or to more than one university, but you may only accept one offer of a Shared Scholarship.

Application Deadline: 16.00 (GMT) on 18 December 2019

Apply Now

Visit the Official Website for Further Details and Apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *